Scroll to navigation

SQ-ENCRYPT(1) USER COMMANDS SQ-ENCRYPT(1)

NAME

sq-encrypt - Encrypts a message

Encrypts a message for any number of recipients and with any number of passwords, optionally signing the message in the process.

The converse operation is "sq decrypt".

SYNOPSIS

sq encrypt [FLAGS] [OPTIONS] [--] [FILE]

FLAGS

Prints help information

Emits binary data

Adds a password to encrypt with. The message can be decrypted with either one of the recipient's keys, or any password.

If a certificate has only expired encryption-capable subkeys, falls back to using the one that expired last

OPTIONS

Writes to FILE or stdout if omitted

Encrypts for all recipients in CERT-RING

Signs the message with KEY

Selects what kind of keys are considered for encryption. Transport select subkeys marked as suitable for transport encryption, rest selects those for encrypting data at rest, and all selects all encryption-capable subkeys. [default: all] [possible values: transport, rest, all]

Selects compression scheme to use [default: pad] [possible values: none, pad, zip, zlib, bzip2]

Chooses keys valid at the specified time and sets the signature's creation time

ARGS

Reads from FILE or stdin if omitted

EXAMPLES

# Encrypt a file using a certificate
$ sq encrypt --recipient-cert romeo.pgp message.txt
# Encrypt a file creating a signature in the process
$ sq encrypt --recipient-cert romeo.pgp --signer-key juliet.pgp message.txt
# Encrypt a file using a password
$ sq encrypt --symmetric message.txt

SEE ALSO

For the full documentation see <https://docs.sequoia-pgp.org/sq/>.

sq(1), sq-armor(1), sq-autocrypt(1), sq-certify(1), sq-dearmor(1), sq-decrypt(1), sq-encrypt(1), sq-inspect(1), sq-key(1), sq-keyring(1), sq-packet(1), sq-sign(1), sq-verify(1)

AUTHORS

Azul <azul@sequoia-pgp.org>
Igor Matuszewski <igor@sequoia-pgp.org>
Justus Winter <justus@sequoia-pgp.org>
Kai Michaelis <kai@sequoia-pgp.org>
Neal H. Walfield <neal@sequoia-pgp.org>
Nora Widdecke <nora@sequoia-pgp.org>
Wiktor Kwapisiewicz <wiktor@sequoia-pgp.org>
MARCH 2021 0.24.0 (SEQUOIA-OPENPGP 1.0.0)