Scroll to navigation

FAULTSTAT(8) System Manager's Manual FAULTSTAT(8)


faultstat - report page faults


faultstat [options] [delay [count]]


faultstat reports the major and minor page fault activity of processes.

If a delay and count are not specified, a snapshot of the current page fault activity is displayed.

If a delay in seconds is specified, faultstat will periodically show any per-process page fault changes. This will run indefinitely until a SIGINT is caught. Specifying count will repeat the periodic output count number of times.


faultstat options are as follow:

show page fault size changes with up arrow ↑ when they increment
get command information from processes comm field
strip directory basename off command information
show help
show long (full) command information
specify a comma separated list of processes to monitor; the process list may contain one or more PIDs or process names
show short command information
top mode, show top page faulting processes by current page fault changes
top mode, show top page faulting processes by total page faults

Hot keys in top mode:

Key Operation
a Toggle page fault change arrow on or off
s Switch sorting order: Major and Minor, Major, Minor, +Major and +Minor, +Major, +Minor, Swap
t Toggle between total page fault count and page fault changes
q or Esc Quit


cpustat(8), eventstat(8), forkstat(8), smemstat(8), top(1), vmstat(8)


faultstat was written by Colin Ian King <>

This manual page was written by Colin Ian King <>, for the Ubuntu project (but may be used by others).


Copyright © 2014-2021 Canonical Ltd, © 2021-2022 Colin Ian King.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

May 11, 2019