Scroll to navigation

SQ-KEY-ADOPT(1) USER COMMANDS SQ-KEY-ADOPT(1)

NAME

sq-key-adopt - Binds keys from one certificate to another

This command allows one to transfer primary keys and subkeys into an existing certificate. Say you want to transition to a new certificate, but have an authentication subkey on your current certificate. You want to keep the authentication subkey because it allows access to SSH servers and updating their configuration is not feasible.

SYNOPSIS

sq key adopt [FLAGS] [OPTIONS] [TARGET-KEY]

FLAGS

Prints help information

Allows adopting keys from certificates using broken cryptography

Emits binary data

OPTIONS

Supplies keys for use in --key.

Adds the key or subkey KEY to the TARGET-KEY

Writes to FILE or stdout if omitted

ARGS

Adds keys to TARGET-KEY

EXAMPLES

# Adopt an subkey into the new cert
$ sq key adopt --keyring juliet-old.pgp --key 0123456789ABCDEF -- juliet-new.pgp

SEE ALSO

For the full documentation see <https://docs.sequoia-pgp.org/sq/>.

sq(1), sq-armor(1), sq-autocrypt(1), sq-certify(1), sq-dearmor(1), sq-decrypt(1), sq-encrypt(1), sq-inspect(1), sq-key(1), sq-key-adopt(1), sq-key-attest-certifications(1), sq-key-extract-cert(1), sq-key-generate(1), sq-keyring(1), sq-keyring-filter(1), sq-keyring-join(1), sq-keyring-list(1), sq-keyring-merge(1), sq-keyring-split(1), sq-packet(1), sq-sign(1), sq-verify(1)

AUTHORS

Azul <azul@sequoia-pgp.org>
Igor Matuszewski <igor@sequoia-pgp.org>
Justus Winter <justus@sequoia-pgp.org>
Kai Michaelis <kai@sequoia-pgp.org>
Neal H. Walfield <neal@sequoia-pgp.org>
Nora Widdecke <nora@sequoia-pgp.org>
Wiktor Kwapisiewicz <wiktor@sequoia-pgp.org>
MARCH 2021 0.24.0 (SEQUOIA-OPENPGP 1.0.0)