Scroll to navigation

SQ-DEARMOR(1) USER COMMANDS SQ-DEARMOR(1)

NAME

sq-dearmor - Converts ASCII to binary

To make encrypted data easier to handle and transport, OpenPGP data can be transformed to an ASCII representation called ASCII Armor. sq transparently handles armored data, but this subcommand can be used to explicitly convert existing ASCII-encoded OpenPGP data to its binary representation.

The converse operation is "sq armor".

SYNOPSIS

sq dearmor [FLAGS] [OPTIONS] [--] [FILE]

FLAGS

Prints help information

OPTIONS

Writes to FILE or stdout if omitted

ARGS

Reads from FILE or stdin if omitted

EXAMPLES

# Convert a ASCII certificate to binary
$ sq dearmor ascii-juliet.pgp
# Convert a ASCII message to binary
$ sq dearmor ascii-message.pgp

SEE ALSO

For the full documentation see <https://docs.sequoia-pgp.org/sq/>.

sq(1), sq-armor(1), sq-autocrypt(1), sq-certify(1), sq-dearmor(1), sq-decrypt(1), sq-encrypt(1), sq-inspect(1), sq-key(1), sq-keyring(1), sq-packet(1), sq-sign(1), sq-verify(1)

AUTHORS

Azul <azul@sequoia-pgp.org>
Igor Matuszewski <igor@sequoia-pgp.org>
Justus Winter <justus@sequoia-pgp.org>
Kai Michaelis <kai@sequoia-pgp.org>
Neal H. Walfield <neal@sequoia-pgp.org>
Nora Widdecke <nora@sequoia-pgp.org>
Wiktor Kwapisiewicz <wiktor@sequoia-pgp.org>
MARCH 2021 0.24.0 (SEQUOIA-OPENPGP 1.0.0)